So my SIL told me about this stupid show on VH1 called Bret’s Love Girls * (or something similarly and stupidly named) which features Bret Michaels from Poison having a The Bachelor kinda reality show where he meets potential rockin’ soul mates. And Leigh-Erin told me it was the guiltiest pleasure of all hookup shows simply for the embarrassingly ridiculousness of these women. She was right: the least offensive part of the show is that he seemingly ends all conversations by frenching. Ugh it was so foul. There is no way I could watch this often, but let’s just say post-menopausal + cat fights + double FF breasts can be train-wreck-interesting for a brief period.

On the mental flip-side, Jon checked out Howard Zinn’s ‘A People’s History of the United States‘ recently. I have intended to read it, one because I know it’s shockingly different than our textbooks from school and secondly because I retained virtually nothing from our textbooks from school.

And even then I probably wouldn’t have chosen it if it weren’t for the apoplectic fit my conservative FIL had when he saw it the other night (and because I ran out of other books** and new magazines). So now, as if it had been banned from the schools, I plan to read it thoroughly and gleefully. And I’ve learned in greater detail so far just why Columbus was actually a total assh*le.

It probably won’t bode well for my burgeoning conspiracy theorist-self, but I think it will be really interesting. If you’ve read it, I’d love to hear what you think.

.

*Ok it’s really called Rock of Love with Bret Michaels. I was just too lazy to find it.

**I told Casey we’d hold off on the HP & DH discussion until next week when he’s back and the less obsessives get a chance to finish it.

