First off: Good LORD Fisher Price, what in the hell are you doing? I suppose this is a good reason to throw away all of our stupid plastic toys now, but c’mon, this is ridiculous.

Secondly, I read a book on the trip called Born on a Blue Day, a memoir from an Autistic Savant named Daniel Tammet, and it was really cool. Part of me felt guilty when reading the savant sections (for instance Tammet memorized and recited almost 23,000 digits of Pi) because I hate freakshow-like publicity; it just seems demeaning to me. But it doesn’t sound like he feels that way, and it is fascinating. He made a documentary called Brainman that showcases his ability to mathematically think visually (it’s called synesthesia) and it’s astounding how he talks about seeing numbers as shapes, colors and landscapes.

Mostly I was interested to learn how he felt about his childhood, because that is where we’re at, and is obviously something I’m trying to navigate. I’ve noticed I’m reading more POVs from adult autistics, to better have an idea of maybe what Jack might be thinking or feeling. Anyway, good stuff, I think everyone should check it out.

.

