Whew. That took a lot of willpower not to write ‘Monday’ after that. (Must… try…harder…fight… cheesy…alliteration..)

So hullo, how was your weekend? Mine was good. I was finally introduced to the dark side (aka, the British ‘Office’), and I have to admit it was worth it – props to Brandon. I love my shiny Hollywood show, but the English version is so much more believably awkward. The people aren’t beautiful, the lighting isn’t bright – it’s so real. I still maintain that Dwight Schrute is a genius character, maybe one of the best ever, but I can safely love them both like children that are similar and yet different.

I got to see one of my oldest friends, Sara (aka Sugar or Tuck), for a bit on Saturday. I enjoyed seeing her son Isaiah, but I was unabashed that the reason I was going mostly was to see her daughter, Stella, who might truly be one of the most beautiful babies I’ve ever seen. And I have to swallow a lot of pride when I say that, because I have some damn cute kids. Her eyes were so fiercely blue, and she looked at you with this look in her eye like she’s no dummy so don’t bother trying. God she’s cute.

Next it was a good old fashioned cry-down with Megawhomp. And lest I give the impression that I eat like a bird, I’ll let you know that we got a pizza and I consumed, uh, multiple pieces in about a minute and a half. I was close to gnawing on my arm I was so freaking hungry. (I was also glad there were no boys around, because it was hot.) We ended up watching Bridges of Madison County, which historically has necessitated the ugly-cry shirt (y’know, when kleenex aren’t enough? I know the women out there surely know of what I speak) but thankfully was not needed this time. I dunno, I’ve seen it in different stages of my life and I thought I’d be more upset than I was. I will say that I think maybe ol’e Clint Eastwood might have been a hottie way back. It kind of skeeves me to say that, but it’s the truth.

Then Meg and I crashed the guy’s night back at our house, and we all played Guitar Hero for a couple hours. We lead exciting lives, people.

But aside from a (not surprisingly) wordy weekend recap, the reason I meant to post today was that I thought I might share some of my favorite songs on my playlist d’jour, so that if anyone else wants to expand their musical repertoire this year, maybe one of these will be a candidate. They’re all a bit slow, and that’s not reflective of my mood, but more that I generally don’t think to pass on fast songs – I’m too picky and I assume others are as well. I figure if you have a soul, SURELY one of these songs will catch you. Now, if you’re a music snob (*cough*Brandon*cough*) and won’t bother to even listen to them, well I can’t help you.

Smooches.

So, randomly:

Lucy Kaplansky – “This Is Home” This song isn’t overtly mindblowing, but it’s very sweet and has the sneaky ability to make you cry. It’s a cuddle song.

.

The National – “Start A War” This is my newest favorite. I couldn’t find the lyrics online so I actually spent time writing them down line by line. ..Luckily it’s not that complicated. And if you’re curious, he’s saying (I think) But if it went away, I’ll get it open now. I’ll get money, I’ll get funny again.

.

Bonnie Raitt – “I Can’t Make You Love Me” Yeah, I know, not much of a pick-me-up. But I’ve loved this for many years and it’s so pretty. This woman is amazing.

.

And finally we have my bi-annual push to spread the word on one of the most beautiful songs EVAR: Sia – “Breathe Me”.

Man I love this song. And what’s surprising is that I don’t usually love this kind of breathless, almost whiskey-voiced singing. It goes against all musical training I’ve ever had and usually makes me want to clear my throat or blow in their face (it forces a person to take a deep breath). But the lyrics and music suckered me with this one, big time. I love how she’s timid and vulnerable in the soft beginning, with the repetitive piano note to give a slight discomfort to it. Then when she repeats the second verse she’s less ashamed of asking for help, and the music begins to build. Finally it crescendos to the last section of the song being just competing rhythms and sounds, with multiple violins (sigh) added. There doesn’t need to be any more lyrics because everything has been said. Bellissimo, this is one of my favorites of all time.

So there you go. Happy (music) Monday. 😉

.

