So I don’t know how many of you watched the Oscars, but apparently during the pre-show, Gary Busey walked up to Ryan Seacrest interviewing Laura Linney and Jennifer Garner. Like the perpetually cracked-out alien he appears to be, he bumbled into the interview and ended up kissing Jennifer Garner on the neck. Her stock in my mind skyrocketed, b/c the look on her face when she first sees him skulking nearby – and throughout the whole thing, actually – is priceless.

Then on Monday morning Seacrest had Busey on his show to explain himself. This is what he said:

“”Well, what I wanted to do was, when I first saw you working, I said, ‘Who is this guy?’ And I said, ‘Oh God, this isn’t going to work.’ And then you captured me. You are to me, when you’re working, an innocent champion of honesty,” Busey told Seacrest. “Your heart has a way to embrace the truth in your delivery without looking like you are reading a script. Everything looks spontaneous. What spontaneity is – spontaneity comes from an invisible idea that is there before the creation began. And you have that naturally, so I just wanted to pay you a compliment. But I didn’t know you were in the middle of an interview, I was just moving through there.” ”

Really though, he might be the smartest guy in the business. He’s not anyone I’d ever want to meet, or even see on the street for that matter, but if you ever need a wild-eyed convincing lunatic – he’s your guy. He might be the world’s most devoted method actor. And nutjob.

Long live Gary Busey. (I guess.)

